Home > Thoughts > The Rightplan on Blizzard – Leveling New Player / Alt in MoP

The Rightplan on Blizzard – Leveling New Player / Alt in MoP

Image

 

Hey RP here!

So Many people in my guild ask me how I level. I only have 2 toons at 90 at the moment, but I am almost done lvling a mage and currently working on my lock now too. Posts, school, work and gaming have slowed my free time down but I make due. Here are some good pointers to lvling both for the new player and for someone making an alt.

Image

 

First choose your class, race name ect.. (I’m sure this needs no explanation.)  If you are making an alt character you can use your guild rep and honour/justice points to buy lvling gear (heirloom gear) that is BOA(bind on account) that can be used over and over and mailed to any of your made characters. The complete set is: a Helm, Back piece, Shoulders, Pants, Weapon, Trinket, Ring and Chest piece. These will help you lvl your toon from 1-85, after 85 you will have to replace them with the current lvl gear.

Image

 

Depending on the toon you can create can slightly affect the way you should level.

LVL 1-15: Questing. This is VERY fast and killing almost everything you can for extra exp while questing can speed this up a great deal.

LVL 15 – 58: Questing /LFG (looking for group). If you are making a tank or healing character or one that is able to tank/heal then choose this specialization and begin queuing for LFG after LFG. They will level you MUCH faster and offer you bonus loot bags after each run to help gear your character for future LFGs. The queue wait time is almost non-existent for tanks and very fast for healers, so even if you want to make a damage dealer (DPSer) still stay heals or tank if you are able to when doing LFG. Almost every class has a healer or tank spec you can choose except for Warlocks, Mages, Hunters and Rogues. If choosing one of the non-healer / tank classes then make sure you quest AMAP in between queue wait times.

LVL 58- 68: Questing in Outlands / LFG: The exp jump from quests in Outlands is huge, so the moment you hit 58 head to the Dark Portal and start questing there. For those who do not know where the Dark Portal is, you can find a portal to it in Stormwind (SW) in the mage tower. Treat Outlands similar to 1-58, meaning LFG as much as you can and quest in between.

LVL 68-80: Questing in Nothrend / LFG: There is another huge jump in xp gains in the LichKing expansion so once you hit 68 you can get a quest from the message board in SW that will direct you on starting you lvling in Northrend. It may seem repetitive but it is lvling and catching up to current content, so again LFG as much as you can and quest in between queues.

LVL 80-85: Questing in Cata Content/Some LFG: This is where things change. Once you hit 80 you will get a quest in SW that will start the Cataclysm expansion content. LFG here is only beneficial to use once and a while unless you are a tank and can always queue but healer queues tend to slow down a bit here. This is also where you want to start playing you desired class more and start to get used to all you skills and abilities to prepare for Pandaria. Every LFG has its own set of quests to do in the dungeon, so when you get a new dungeon unlocked (by lvling) queue up again for LFG and finish the new quests since they yield a lot of xp.

Image

 

LVL 85-90: Questing in MoP Content/Few LFG: Welcome to the new content. When lvling in Pandaria only do each Dungeon in LFG once REGARDLESS of your class. The amount of xp you get from questing to the amount from LFG is not worth queuing over and over. It is important you follow the questing explanation below in this and all questing related lvling areas. Also note that ALL your heirloom gear will no longer lvl with you here and must be replace ASAP and I would strongly recommend a trip to the AH (auction house) if your bank can deal with the costs.

Questing: When lvling by questing it is VERY important to not spend too much time in one location, to better know when you should move to the next area to quest just look at the map and it will show you the minimum and max for each area for lvling. Keep an eye on this because in some cases you have not reached the max lvl for an area but you have reached the minimum for a new area. In this case leave the one you are not maxed in and start working on the minimum lvl one. The lower you are on the requirements the more quickly you will level.

 

Image

Content: As always, I HIGHLY recommend taking the long route to lvling and see the old content. This fast lvling is for those who hate story lines and wanna be Max lvl ASAP or when lvling an alt. The story line in WoW is very well done and is one of the main reasons why people play. I would highly suggest minimum LFG and a lot more questing if you are new to experience this. Also once you get to the Outlands the stories tend to narrow down and have a lot more thought put into them, so I would suggest doing everything in every area from this point on to get the full appreciation of the game. But once again you can skip all that and just hit 90 and see the new content if that is how you like to start a new game.

PVP (Player vs. Player): I didn’t mention a lot on this because it is pretty strait forward. You can get bonus rep from the heirloom gear for this too and basically queue for battlegrounds hope you win rise and repeat till you are bored and then lvl the way mentioned above. I didn’t touch a lot on this because #1 it is slower and based a lot on how often you win, and #2 it becomes very boring very quickly especially if you are a new player and not experienced in PVP.

Well hope this helps everyone out!

Happy Gaming!

-Jon

  1. Brad
    April 7, 2013 at 9:50 pm

    your UI is sooo old school guy!!!! but the basics are pretty good.

    • April 8, 2013 at 2:48 am

      HAHA if you saw my numbers in raids and in everything I do old school works best for me 🙂 besides with my Naga mouse I only use my keyboard for moving and targeting. When you’ve been playing WoW since beta old school is what you’re best at haha. But thanks for the recommendation, maybe ill try some new stuff out… Although I won’t keep it if my numbers drop. I have seen some really nice UIs out there though. I do use healbot because I don’t like the WoW built in one, but it is under my character profile in the pics so you can’t see it.

  2. Joey Sisco
    April 9, 2013 at 5:31 pm

    Really liked this article Jon. Since I’m getting a new account, I’ll be rerolling my main and all alts entirely, so this was a really good read. I admit, my main will BLAST through the leveling experience, since, well, I’m just used to having a main at 90. I’ll be using RAF and dual boxing to plow through the levels. After that my alts will take their time, since I love Azeroth. Tis’ a magical place.

    I also appreciate the tip on when to stop LFD as much. I knew there was a point where questing caught it in terms of XP per hour, just wasn’t sure where. Thanks for the tip! 😀

  3. April 10, 2013 at 1:05 am

    np man Happy LVLing 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Comment